WWF and “Snegurochka”
joined forces to save
wild reindeer
Throughout the history of humankind, the wild reindeer has been man's helper in the harsh climate of the far North. It is no exaggeration to say that deer were the primary condition for human survival in the tundra and taiga.
5 000 000
individuals, when the population totaled
950 000
individuals left in Russia today
at
5
times decreased
number of individuals
Reindeer
at risk
disappearances

What threatens
the reindeer?

Today, the wild reindeer, an integral part of Northern nature, is threatened with extinction. In most regions of Russia, they are listed as «endangered» in the Red Book. The reasons for the decline in population are related to climate change, poaching and fragmentation of habitats due to infrastructure development. Now it is time for humans to help these beautiful animals survive by taking practical steps to preserve them.
thousands of individuals were destroyed by poachers in wintering places, according to experts
Sustainability has always been a core pillar of Mondi’s strategy as well as of our product and brand approach. For many years, Mondi has been cooperating with WWF Russia in the direction of preservation and restoration of pristine Northern forests in the Komi Republic, where our largest Russian mill operates in Syktyvkar. This year we decided to take the next step and, joining our efforts with WWF Russia, organise a programme to save of the unique inhabitant of the Northern forests – the wild reindeer.
hectares of primeval forests, Russia loses annually. Thus, the “house” of the reindeer disappears.
Project symbol
Project symbol
"Snegurochka" brand, became a symbol of our cooperation with WWF on this programme. According to Russian legends, Snegurochka, a friendly and caring granddaughter of Santa Claus, lives in the North, surrounded by forests and wild animals. It’s a paper with the Russian soul, helping people to focus on what really matters, encouraging them to new achievements. Therefore, we decided that this image is the best suited to become a symbol of our joint environmental initiative with WWF Russia – the programme "Save the reindeer together."
Help Snegurochka
save the reindeer
About the project
In September 2019, we pooled our efforts with WWF Russia, and developed the programme aiming to save and restore the wild reindeer population in the North of Russia. During the year the experts, using modern means of remote control – satellite collars and quadcopters – will be able to determine the location of deer herds in different seasons of the year and the ways of their migrations.

The data obtained will allow the scientists to establish reliable protection of wild reindeer both from poaching and from the other factor of concern.

In the Komi Republic, the research will run in the Yugyd-VA national Park and the Pechora-Ilych reserve.

In parallel, there will be research in the Kronotsky reserve in Kamchatka. It will be the basis for the development of the wild reindeer population restoration programme. As a result, scientists will be able to decide on possible next steps, for example, the establishment of a nursery for breeding the last remaining deer in captivity or trapping and reintroducing wild reindeer from different parts of the range.

1. Pechora-Ilych reserve

2. Yugyd-VA national Park

3. Kronotsky reserve

Save the reindeer
together.

We believe that by commitment to sustainability, we can save our unique natural wealth, and together, we will be able to preserve the unique species of wild reindeer.

More information about the project, Mondi and WWF of Russia on preservation of wild reindeer can be found here: www.wwf.ru/snegurochka

Where to buy?

Our products are available at Komus, Samson,
Relief, Farm, Finsib and many others.

We use cookies.

WWF и «Снегурочка»
объединили усилия
для сохранения дикого
северного оленя
В течение всей истории человечества дикий северный олень был помощником человека в суровом климате крайнего Севера. Не будет преувеличением сказать, что олени были основным условием выживания человека в тундре и тайге.
5 000 000
особей, когда то насчитывала популяция
950 000
особей, сегодня осталось в России
в
5
раз сократилась
численность особей
Северный олень
под угрозой
исчезновения

Что угрожает
северному оленю?

Сегодня дикий северный олень, эта неотъемлемая часть северной природы, под угрозой исчезновения. В большинстве регионов России, они занесены в Красную книгу состатусом «угрожаемый вид». Снижение численности диких северных оленей вызвано браконьерством, изменением климата и сокращением пастбищ за счет расширения глобальной инфраструктуры. Теперь человеку пришло время помочь этим прекрасным животным выжить, предприняв практические шаги для их сохранения.
тысяч особей уничтожили браконьеры на местах зимовок, по подсчетам специалистов
Бережное отношение к природным ресурсам всегда были и остаются основой стратегии развития компании Mondi. В течение многих лет Mondi сотрудничает с WWF России в направлении сохранения и восстановления первозданных северных лесов в Республике Коми, где в Сыктывкаре работает наш крупнейший комбинат в России. В этом году мы решили сделать следующий шаг и, объединив наши усилия с WWF России, организовать программу сохранения и восстановления уникального жителя северных лесов – дикого северного оленя.
гектаров первозданных лесов, ежегодно теряет Россия. Тем самым изчезает и “дом” северного оленя.
Символ проекта
Символ проекта
Символом нашего сотрудничества с WWF по программе сохранения популяции дикого северного оленя стал бренд «Снегурочка». Согласно русским легендам, Снегурочка, приветливая и заботливая внучка Деда Мороза, уединенно живет на Севере, в окружении многовековых лесов и диких животных. «Снегурочка» - это бумага с русской душой, созданная, чтобы помогать людям фокусироваться на главном, вдохновлять их на стремление к новым вершинам. Именно поэтому мы решили, что этот образ лучше всего подходит для того, чтобы стать символом нашей совместной с WWF России экологической инициативы – программы «Сохраним северного оленя вместе».
О проекте
В сентябре 2019 г. мы приняли программу, в рамках которой эксперты, с помощью современных средств дистанционного контроля – спутниковых ошейников и квадрокоптеров – смогут определить места нахождения стад оленей в различные сезоны года и пути их кочевок.

Полученные данные позволят наладить надежную охрану стад дикого северного оленя как от браконьерства, так и от фактора беспокойства.

В Республике Коми исследования будут проводиться на территории национального парка Югыд-Ва и Печоро-Илычского заповедника.

Параллельно будут проходить исследования, направленные на изучение диких северных оленей и выработка программы восстановления их популяции в Кроноцком заповеднике на Камчатке. На основе этого исследования ученые смогут принять решение о возможных последующих шагах для и восстановления их популяции на Камчатке, например, создание питомника для разведения последних сохранившихся оленей в неволе или отлова и реинтродукции дикого северного оленя из других частей ареала.

1. Печоро-Илычский заповедник

2. Национальный парк Югыд-Ва

3. Кроноцкий заповедник

Сохраним северного
оленя вместе

Мы верим, что совместными усилиями сможем сохранить уникальный вид дикого северного оленя, а, следуя принципам ответственного отношения к природе, и наши уникальные природные богатства в целом.

Узнать больше о совместном проекте Mondi и WWF России по сохранению дикого северного оленя можно здесь: www.wwf.ru/snegurochka

Мы используем cookies.